U.S.T.R. allocates additional sugar import quotas

by Ron Sterk
Share This:
WASHINGTON — The Office of the United States Trade Representative this week announced country-specific allocations for the additional 181,437 tonnes (200,000 short tons) of tariff rate quota raw sugar imports announced April 23 by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The sugar must enter the United States by the end of the current marketing year on Sept. 30, 2010.

Twenty-seven countries received the increased allocations, including 32,033 tonnes to the Dominican Republic, 26,391 tonnes to Brazil, 24,571 tonnes to the Philippines, 15,106 tonnes to Australia, 8,736 tonnes to Guatemala, 7,826 tonnes to Argentina, 7,462 tonnes to Peru, 7,258 tonnes to Congo, 5,278 tonnes to Panama, 4,732 tonnes to El Salvador, 4,368 tonnes to Colombia, 4,186 tonnes to South Africa, 3,822 tonnes to Nicaragua, 2,912 tonnes to Swaziland, 2,730 tonnes to Costa Rica, 2,548 tonnes to Thailand, 2,366 tonnes to Mozambique, 2,185 tonnes to Zimbabwe, 2,185 tonnes to Mauritius, 2,184 tonnes to Guyana, 2,002 tonnes to Belize, 2,002 tonnes to Ecuador, 2,002 tonnes to Jamaica, 1,820 tonnes to Honduras, 1,820 tonnes to Malawi, 1,456 tonnes to Bolivia and 1,456 tonnes to India.
Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Baking Business News do not reflect those of Baking Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.