Grains groups nominate eight to guidelines committee

by Josh Sosland
Share This:

WASHINGTON — Eight scientists with a wide range of backgrounds and areas of specialization have been nominated by the food grains industry to serve on the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee. Areas of expertise include not only nutrition and carbohydrate science but also regulation, communications, obesity prevention and family dynamics.

The industry groups jointly submitting the nominations were the American Bakers Association, the Grain Foods Foundation, the Grains for Health Foundation, the National Association of Wheat Growers, the National Pasta Association, the North American Millers’ Association, the USA Rice Federation and the Wheat Foods Council.

The nominations were submitted in response to a solicitation dated Oct. 26. The nominations were sent to Richard D. Olson, the prevention science lead and designated federal officer for the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. H.H.S. is responsible for the guidelines together with the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Industry nominees are:

  • Glenn A. Gaesser, professor, Arizona State University, Phoenix. Dr. Gaesser was recommended based on his emphasis on the need for physical activity and his extensive background in carbohydrate issues.
  • Julie Miller Jones, distinguished scholar and professor emerita, retired, St. Catherine University, Arden Hills, Minn., was recommended for her “comprehensive knowledge of nutrition and food science,” with specific expertise in areas of carbohydrates and grain phytonutrients.
  • Jeanne P. Goldberg, director, Center on Nutrition Communications, Tufts University, Boston. Dr. Goldberg’s research and publications “have been in nutrition communication and child nutrition, with an emphasis on obesity prevention.”
  • Joanne L. Slavin, professor, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Minnesota, St. Paul. Dr. Slavin was recommended as a well-known lecturer with emphasis on dietary fiber, carbohydrates, whole grains and the role of diet in disease prevention.
  • Theresa A. Nicklas, Children’s Nutrition Research Center, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston. “Dr. Nicklas has a wide breadth of knowledge in childhood obesity, epidemiology and behavioral nutrition,” the group said.
  • Catherine Adams-Hutt, president and chief executive officer, RDR Solutions Consulting, L.L.C., Washington. A registered dietician with experience in manufacturing, food service and the regulatory communities, Dr. Adams-Hutt was nominated for her “broad and deep knowledge and experience” in food science, including food safety, food chemistry, microbiology, product development, regulatory science and nutrition science.
  • Keith-Thomas Ayoob, associate professor, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York. Dr. Ayoob, who has 25 years of clinical experience specializing in obesity, child nutrition and family dynamics, was nominated for his background in these areas.
Eileen Theresa Kennedy, professor of nutrition, Tufts University, Boston. Dr. Kennedy has conducted research focused on the effects of governmental and non-governmental public health policies and programs on health, nutrition, food security and welfare, with a particular emphasis on women and children.
Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Baking Business News do not reflect those of Baking Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.


By GaryMiller 1/2/2013 10:59:38 AM
Frankly with a few of these names, this is a little like letting the fox in the hen house. I don't like this at all.