Vilsack confirmed as secretary of agriculture

by Eric Schroeder
Share This:

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Senate on Tuesday confirmed six cabinet secretaries, including former Iowa Governor Tom Vilsack as secretary of agriculture.

The vote came a little more than three hours after President Barack Obama took the oath of office to become the 44th president.

In addition to Mr. Vilsack, others confirmed on Tuesday included: Arne Duncan, secretary of education; Janet Ann Napolitano, secretary of homeland security; Steven Chu, secretary of energy; Kenneth Lee Salazar, secretary of the interior; and

Eric K. Shinseki, secretary of veterans affairs.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Baking Business News do not reflect those of Baking Business News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.