RAPID CITY, S.D. — Dan Hughes of Venango, Neb., was installed July 1 as chairman of the U.S. Wheat Associates board of directors. Mr. Hughes succeeded as chairman Darrell Davis of Ipswich, S.D., who transitioned to past chairman and chairman of the group’s budget committee.

Other officers installed with Mr. Hughes were Roy Motter of Brawley, Calif., vice-chairman, and Brian O’Toole, Crystal, N.D., secretary-treasurer. The officers were elected at the U.S. Wheat January 2013 Winter Wheat Conference to one-year terms. The installation was conducted at the Summer Board Meeting, held June 29-July 1 at the Mount Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn in Rapid City.

Also conducted at the meeting were committee sessions, including meetings of the Joint Biotech and Joint International Trade Policy committees, convening together with representatives of the National Association of Wheat Growers.

Industry speakers at the U.S. Wheat meeting included Greg Guthrie, director of ag products, BNSF Railway; Norm Dreger, head of North America cereals, Syngenta; and Kevin Kephart, vice-president of research, South Dakota State University.