WASHINGTON — Chris Foley of Pepperidge Farm, Inc. and Chad Coester of Safeway, Inc. were among five industry executives elected as new members of the American Bakers Association board of directors.

A.B.A. announced the new board members for 2014-16 this week. They were elected during the 2014 annual meeting of A.B.A. at the Phoenician hotel and resort in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Mr. Foley is senior vice-president and general manager of fresh and frozen bakery at Pepperidge. Mr. Coester is vice-president, U.S. grocery manufacturing for the Safeway manufacturing division.

A number of prominent members of the baking industry also were named to the A.B.A. board, including Bradley K. Alexander, president of Flowers Bakeries; Miles E. Jones, co-chairman, Dawn Food Products, Inc.; and Cordia Harrington, Tennessee Bun Co.

The new board members succeed several stepping down, including J. Bowman Williams Jr. of B.C. Williams Bakery Service, David Murphy of Mother Murphy’s Flavors and John Hink of Quality Bakery/Rite-Way.

The A.B.A. slate of officers announced in February also was elected during the annual meeting: Rich Scalise, chairman and c.e.o. of Hearthside Food Solutions, chairman; Fred Penny, president of Bimbo Bakeries USA, first vice-chairman; Allen L. Shiver, president and c.e.o. of Flowers Foods, Inc., second vice-chairman; and Erin Sharp, group vice-president, manufacturing, treasurer.