On March 3, the American Society of Baking (A.S.B.) inducted the 2014 class of the Baking Hall of Fame. This year’s honorees — Donald R. Shaffer; Mariano, Eugenio, Renato, Umberto and Giancarlo Turano; and John J. Watson — bring the number so recognized to 57. The list of honorees reads like a “Who’s Who” of the baking and allied trades industries — individuals with highly accomplished careers.

An appreciation for how the past shapes the future led Gary Brodsky, chair, A.S.B. Baking Hall of Fame committee to propose this recognition program when he chaired A.S.B. in 2006. He was inspired by examples set by bakers and allied tradesmen who came before him.

“The whole idea is to single out individuals who moved the industry forward, who contributed to the growth of the industry,” he told Baking & Snack.

With the 2014 induction ceremony, Gary plans to step down from chairing the committee, but his legacy lives on.

“It is our belief that the road to a dynamic future begins with inspiring the hearts and minds of our associates,” he said. “The Baking Hall of Fame is the catalyst for this transformation. It will serve as both a tribute and a tool, helping us cast a new future that is responsive to technological advancement, led with confidence, vision and purpose.”

Congratulations, Gary, on a job well done.