WASHINGTON — Representatives Kathy Dahlkemper of Pennsylvania and Mike Pence of Indiana have been named recipients of the 2010 Horst G. Denk Legislative Service Award by the Independent Bakers Association.

The I.B.A. gives the award annually to two members of Congress based on their support of issues important to the baking and food industry.

Ms. Dahlkemper, a Democrat, is a freshman Representative for the 3rd Congressional District of Pennsylvania.

Ms. Dahlkemper serves on the Committee on Agriculture, Committee on Science and Technology, and the Committee on Small Business.

“A ‘Blue Dog’ conservative, she also has the honor and responsibility of serving as chairwoman on the Subcommittee on Regulations and Health Care, which is a subcommittee of the Small Business Committee,” the I.B.A. said.

Mr. Pence, now in his fifth term in Congress, was elected unanimously by House Republicans to serve as House Republican Conference chairman in November 2008. In this role, Mr. Pence helps to develop and disseminate the message of the Republican Conference and to promote its members. He also serves on the House Foreign Affairs Committee and previously served on the Judiciary, Agriculture and Small Business committees and as Ranking Member on the Select Committee to Investigate the Voting Irregularities of August 2, 2007.

“Both of these members of Congress have proven themselves worthy of the award,” the I.B.A. said. “As a member of the Agriculture Committee, Congressman Pence participated in drafting the 2002 Farm Bill. He worked closely with Senator Richard Lugar of Indiana to advance the vision of freedom to farm.

Congressman Pence also authored the Farming Flexibility Act (or ‘Farm Flex’), which would give American farmers freedom to diversify their crops without fear of excessive penalties.

“Recently, Congresswoman Dahlkemper collaborated with five U.S.D.A. agencies: the Agricultural Marketing Service, the Farm Service Agency, the Agricultural Research Service, the Food Safety and Inspection Service and the Food and Nutrition Service, to introduce new initiatives for School Lunch and Food and Nutrition Assistance programs to assure the safety and quality of food purchased by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. “

The 2010 Horst G. Denk Legislative Service Award will be presented by the I.B.A. at its Congressional Reception on Capitol Hill on Wednesday, June 16 as part of the group’s 36th annual meeting.
The award is named for Horst G. Denk, a chairman of the I.B.A. during the early 1980s. Under Mr. Denk’s leadership, the I.B.A. expanded its legislative involvement.