WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. — James H. Morgan Jr., chief executive officer of Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Inc., has reassumed the role of president of the company, effective immediately. He succeeds Kenneth A. May, who had joined the company in November 2011 as president and chief operating officer. Mr. May is leaving the company for personal reasons.

“We think well of Ken and wish him the very best,” Mr. Morgan said.

Mr. Morgan has been the chairman of Krispy Kreme since January 2005 and has been its c.e.o. since January 2008. He was president from January 2008 to Nov. 28, 2011.