Erin Sharp, Kroger, A.B.A.
Erin Sharp has been elected chair of the American Bakers Association.

SCOTTSDALE, ARIZ. — Erin Sharp, group vice-president, manufacturing, The Kroger Co., Cincinnati, has been elected chair of the American Bakers Association.

Ms. Sharp was elected April 15 at the A.B.A. All Membership Meeting during the group’s annual convention held at The Phoenician in Scottsdale.

As chairman, Ms. Sharp succeeds Fred Penny, president of Bimbo Bakeries USA, Horsham, Pa., who will serve as immediate past chairman.

Other officers elected include Bradley K. Alexander, president, Fresh Packaged Bread Business Unit, Flowers Foods, Inc., Thomasville, Ga., who will continue to serve as first vice-chairman; Cordia Harrington, chief executive officer, The Bakery Cos., Nashville, Tenn., who will remain second vice-chairman; Brian LeComte, treasurer, Gold Medal Bakery, Fall River, Mass., who will succeed Ms.  Sharp as A.B.A. treasurer; and William Quigg, president, Richmond Baking, Richmond, Ind., Executive Committee at-large member.

The Executive Committee at-large member is a position established in 2017 as a result of an A.B.A. bylaws amendment in connection to the merger between the A.B.A and the Biscuit & Cracker Manufacturers’ Association.

Luc Mongeau, president of Weston Foods, Toronto, was welcomed during the meeting as a new director for the board.

“A.B.A. looks forward to the leadership and guidance of the 2018-2020 board of directors,” said Robb MacKie, president and c.e.o. of the A.B.A. “These leaders serve as excellent ambassadors for both the association and the baking industry.”