WASHINGTON — Senator Tom Harkin of Iowa and Senator Saxby Chambliss of Georgia, chairman and ranking member, respectively, of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, recently announced the membership of the committee for the 111th Congress.

Joining Mr. Harkin as Democratic members of the Senate agriculture committee, by order of seniority, are Patrick J. Leahy of Vermont (a former chairman of the committee), Kent Conrad of North Dakota, Max Baucus of Montana, Blanche L. Lincoln of Arkansas, Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, E. Benjamin Nelson of Nebraska, Sherrod Brown of Ohio, Robert P. Casey Jr. of Pennsylvania, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Kristen Gillibrand of New York and Michael Bennet of Colorado.

Ms. Gillibrand and Mr. Bennet were new to the committee and the Senate. Ms. Gillibrand, who most recently was a member of the House of Representatives, was named by New York Governor David Paterson to serve out the remaining term of Senator Hillary Clinton, who recently was confirmed as secretary of state. Mr. Bennet was named by Colorado Governor Bill Ritter to complete the term of Senator Ken Salazar, who recently was confirmed as secretary of the interior.

Joining Senator Chambliss as Republican members of the agriculture committee are Richard G. Lugar of Indiana (former chairman of the committee), Thad Cochran of Mississippi, Mitch McConnell of Kentucky (Republican leader of the Senate), Pat Roberts of Kansas, Mike Johanns of Nebraska (former secretary of agriculture), Charles Grassley of Iowa and John Thune of South Dakota.

Mr. Chambliss has one more Republican slot to fill and was awaiting final results of the contest between Senator Norm Coleman of Minnesota, who was a committee member during the 110th Congress, and Democrat Al Franken.