WASHINGTON — Senators Richard Lugar of Indiana and Mark Pryor of Arkansas have been nominated to receive the Horst G. Denk Legislative Service Award of the Independent Bakers Association.

The I.B.A. gives the award annually to members of Congress based on their support for key issues of concern to baking and the food industry.

A U.S. Senator since 1976, Mr. Lugar built bipartisan support for 1996 federal farm program reforms while he was chairman of the Agriculture Committee. The reforms helped turn back 1930s era federal production controls.

"He has promoted broader risk management options for farmers, research advancements, increased export opportunities and higher net farm income," the I.B.A. said. "He also led initiatives to streamline the U.S. Department of Agriculture, reform the food stamp program and preserve the federal school lunch program."

Mr. Pryor was elected in 2002 to the Senate seat once held by his father. He is a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee and is chairman of the Subcommittee on Consumer Affairs. In that role he recently was active in pursing reforms to "keep toxic toys and dangerous products off store shelves," the I.B.A. said.

More specific to grain-based foods, the I.B.A. noted Mr. Lugar "worked hard to bring to the attention of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission outrageous commodity prices." The bakers credited Mr. Pryor with holding "steadfast to a pro-business stance in the face of an aggressive big labor agenda in the 111th Congress."

The senators will be presented with their award at the I.B.A. Congressional Reception June 18 as part of the group’s annual meeting.

The award is named for Horst G. Denk, who was chairman of the I.B.A. in the early 1980s. The association said its legislative involvement expanded significantly during Mr. Denk’s term.