WASHINGTON — Dan Hughes of Venango, Neb., was elected chairman of U.S. Wheat Associates for 2013-14 at the group’s meeting Jan. 29 in Washington. Mr. Hughes, who currently is vice-chairman, was elected as part of a slate that included Darrell Davis of Ipswich, S.D., who will move to chairman from past chairman; Roy Motter of Brawley, Calif., who will move to vice-chairman from secretary-treasurer; and Bryan O’Toole of Crystal, N.D., elected secretary-treasurer. The team will assume their new positions June 29 at the group’s annual meeting in Rapid City, S.D. Mr. Hughes produces wheat in a farm in southwest Nebraska. He grows hard red winter as well as hard white wheat, produced under contract for ConAgra Mills. He also is a commissioner of the Nebraska Wheat Board.

Mr. O’Toole, the newest officer, began his farming career after attending the State School of Science in Wahpeton, N.D. Together with a cousin, he operates O’Toole Farms, producing hard red spring and hard red winter wheat, soybeans, corn, sugar beets and dry beans.